Is this phrase more likely to be literal or a euphemism?

Discussion about the Hebrew Bible, Septuagint, pseudepigrapha, Philo, Josephus, Talmud, Dead Sea Scrolls, archaeology, etc.
Sigurdrifa

Is this phrase more likely to be literal or a euphemism?

Post by Sigurdrifa »

*and what's the most accurate translation?*

A few months ago I was Googling and reading up on the Talmudic "Ben Stada" traditions out of interest. More Googling turns up a whole lot of scholars' theories on the meaning of the Aramaic phrase "megadla neshayya" in the context of a description for Ben Stada's mother Miriam, including the idea that it's meant litearlly because she worked as a hairdresser or professional hair braider but also that it was a euphemism for a woman who was unfaithful or promiscuous. I've seen a lot of different translations; as "hairdresser", "women's hairdresser", "braider of women's hair" and "woman who let her hair grow".

I'm not an expert or scholar and I can't read Aramaic, so I want to ask what the generally accepted theories about the phrase and its meaning are. What's this phrase most likely to mean and refer to and what's likely to be the most accurate translation for it out of all the ones I've found? Can anyone weigh in?
Last edited by Sigurdrifa on Wed Nov 19, 2014 12:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
semiopen

Re: Is this phrase more likely to be literal or a euphemism?

Post by semiopen »

Jesus_in_the_Talmud
The name "ben Stada", used for the same figure, is explained by Peter Schäfer as a reference to his mother's supposed adultery:
His mother's true name was Miriam, and “Stada” is an epithet which derives from the Hebrew/Aramaic root sat.ah/sete' (“to deviate from the right path, to go astray, to be unfaithful”). In other words, his mother Miriam was also called “Stada” because she was a sotah, a woman suspected, or rather convicted, of adultery."[47]