names of children in the "Apocalypse of Moses"

Discussion about the Hebrew Bible, Septuagint, pseudepigrapha, Philo, Josephus, Talmud, Dead Sea Scrolls, archaeology, etc.
fieldfarmer38

names of children in the "Apocalypse of Moses"

Post by fieldfarmer38 »

Hello,

I am reposting this from the “Christian Texts and History” section after a suggestion from Ben, that it might be better suited for this area.

I’m not a scholar by any means, and I’m sadly only fluent in English. I’m just an adult student of life and I enjoy learning. I had a question or two about the text that I thought was called “The Apocalypse of Moses.” I’m going to go ahead and post my original question along with Ben’s comments (Ben, forgive me if this is considered uncouth) and I’d love to learn more, if someone has something further to add…

Hello,

I'm new to this board. I searched the archives before posting this question, but if it has already been discussed somewhere here, I didn't see it. Forgive me if it has.

I was reading the "Apocalypse of Moses", and I noticed a discrepancy of the names of Adam and Eve's children between a couple of translations, and I was hoping that someone could shed some light on it for me. In most of the versions online, there's the line "Adiaphotos, who is called Cain and Amilabes who is called Abel" with the names even being defined as Adiaphotos meaning "a planter", and Amilabes meaning "a keeper of sheep".

While in another version, the names are given as "Anlojs" (instead of Adiaphotos) meaning "without light" and "Barekhooh" (instead of Amilabes) meaning "well-minded".

I understand that there are often differences in translations, but not usually with names. And, these seem so very different names that I'm having trouble making the connection without huge leaps in creative thinking.