Theatre and healing

What do they believe? What do you think? Talk about religion as it exists today.

Moderator: JoeWallack

Clive

Theatre and healing

Post by Clive »

Day in day out they are expected to play out a 'part'. Many are the days, and the situations where that outward paid for and demanded public performance is far out of sync with what the Pastor inwardly and privately thinks or believes, but must keep to himself.
From laying cards thread.

I have been recently looking at relationships between theatre and healing. The above quote seems to be an example of these matters not being resolved!

I get the impression religion has captured and institutionalised a major part of society that is actually about free actors relating openly and honestly with others.

Can anyone point me to academic discussion of these issues?

My background is sociological.
"We cannot slaughter each other out of the human impasse"
Clive

Re: Theatre and healing

Post by Clive »

Found a fascinating summary
This paper was conceived in a psychodrama training group when I heard Zerka Moreno say that in ancient Greece, theatre was considered a religious ritual. I imagined a "healing theatre of Ancient Greece" separate from "regular" theatre; where Greek physicians might actually prescribe theatre as a part of treatment; where whole theaters of sick people (I imagined a dark cave as in Plato's Republic) watched a comedy or tragedy and were cured.