Did Paul know that Jesus performed miracles?

Discussion about the New Testament, apocrypha, gnostics, church fathers, Christian origins, historical Jesus or otherwise, etc.
moses

Did Paul know that Jesus performed miracles?

Post by moses »

who, though he was in the form of God,
did not regard equality with God
as something to be exploited,
7 but emptied himself,
taking the form of a slave,
being born in human likeness

?
Did emptied forms perform miracles?
GakuseiDon

Re: Did Paul know that Jesus performed miracles?

Post by GakuseiDon »

moses wrote: Tue Aug 10, 2021 12:57 amDid emptied forms perform miracles?
I guess it depends on what "emptied himself" means. I personally believe (note: I'm just a rank amateur who hasn't studied history or the Bible, and don't know anything about the ancient languages used in the Bible) that Phil 2 is an expression of Adam Christology. Adam was in the image of God, Jesus was in the form of God. Jesus could have been exempt from the sin of Adam and remained in the form/image of God, but by "emptying himself" he came as a slave to the old Law that came about because of the sin of Adam.

Phil 2 does have Jesus "born in human likeness", and since it was thought that humans could work miracles it's possible that Paul thought that Jesus also worked miracles before Jesus ascended. But there is nothing in Paul's letters to suggest Paul thought that.

Paul does mention several times that miracles were wrought in the early church. For example:

1 Cor 12:7 But the manifestation of the Spirit is given to each one for the profit of all:
8 for to one is given the word of wisdom through the Spirit, to another the word of knowledge through the same Spirit,
9 to another faith by the same Spirit, to another gifts of healings by *the same Spirit,
10 to another the working of miracles, to another prophecy, to another discerning of spirits, to another different kinds of tongues, to another the interpretation of tongues.