What evidence from Pauline Letters (aside from Paul's claims) do we have that he was a pharisee and a Jewish scholar?

Discussion about the New Testament, apocrypha, gnostics, church fathers, Christian origins, historical Jesus or otherwise, etc.
ABuddhist

What evidence from Pauline Letters (aside from Paul's claims) do we have that he was a pharisee and a Jewish scholar?

Post by ABuddhist »

I ask because Paul would not be the first religious leader (or even founder of a new religious sect) to inflate his credentials when talking to converts/followers.

Furthermore, the fact that Paul cites from the Septuagint (as far as I can recall) and reveals only limited knowledge of Aramaic in his authentic writings strongly suggests to me that he was not able to read Hebrew. Otherwise, I suppose that he would have cited the Jews' scriptures in a way that more accurately reflected the underlying Hebrew that he would have studied.

But I am only an amateur, and I am wondering whether any scholars have produced evidence from Paul's letters that Paul was, as he claimed, a Pharisee and a Jewish scholar.
John2

Re: What evidence from Pauline Letters (aside from Paul's claims) do we have that he was a pharisee and a Jewish scholar

Post by John2 »

Acts says that Paul was a Pharisee (23:6) and spoke Hebrew (21:40), and for what it's worth, I think Acts may have been written by someone who knew Paul. But in any event, it shows that someone who was fairly close to Paul's time and arguably knew his letters thought that he was a Pharisee and knew Hebrew.

... Paul, knowing that some of them were Sadducees and others Pharisees, called out in the Sanhedrin, “Brothers, I am a Pharisee, the son of a Pharisee ..."
... Paul, standing on the steps, motioned with his hand to the people. And when there was a great hush, he addressed them in the Hebrew language ...

Some translations have this (and the other references to Hebrew in the NT) as Aramaic, but the Greek says Hebrew.