yegads: Holy Moses, Thoth!

Discussion about the Hebrew Bible, Septuagint, pseudepigrapha, Philo, Josephus, Talmud, Dead Sea Scrolls, archaeology, etc.
billd89

yegads: Holy Moses, Thoth!

Post by billd89 »

Search of the Forums shows this hasn't been discussed, ever? That Moses=Thoth theory.

I have no knowledge of the state of Moses scholarship, but recent articles in the Israeli media suggest the myth of the my childhood has taken a beating. That dirty Egyptian, lol. I for one always loved the Moses stories, but like everything in the Bible, considered it simple myth (=silly stories).

I'm not so blithe in my disregard of outlier opinions on such myths these days, however, especially by any well-educated respectable 19th C. theologian who meticulously crafted his arguments with footnotes - only to be scorned by the outraged academy of his day, 'HOW VERY DARE YOU!'

Daniel Völter’s Jahwe und Mose im Licht aegyptischer Parallelen [1919] **HathitTrust Link** is one of those theological 'early' studies that offended all religious folks and so was binned outright. Hmmm... is it time for a re-appraisal?

Typical of the grossly oversimplified and unfair dismissal (Patrick Boylan, [1922], p.150f)